Soaring (not snoring)! -2018 Year in Review

2018. How do I describe you?

Despite living on 4-5 hours of sleep nightly (because my toddler detests sleep), I learned to trust in God to survive each day.  The result?

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”-Isaiah‬ ‭40:30-31‬ ‭

My top 3 nursing ‭stories: (I’ll write about these, hopefully soon!)

3. Spontaneous Surprises – my ‘first day’ continued

2. Walking through the Seasons – reunited with an old patient

1. An Early Christmas Gift – one of the best gifts ever

Top 3 characteristics I learned about God:

3.  He is sovereign.

“I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me”- Isaiah 46:9

2. He hears our prayers.

I cried out to him with my mouth;
    his praise was on my tongue.
If I had cherished sin in my heart,
    the Lord would not have listened;
but God has surely listened
    and has heard my prayer.
Praise be to God,
    who has not rejected my prayer
    or withheld his love from me!” -Psalm 66:17-20

 1.  God can do the impossible!

“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” – Matthew 19:26

Random 3 photos of treasured memories:

48203718_2372734869421112_3820328420009574400_o

Once in a Lifetime

3. Once in a Lifetime-  My dance troupe was invited to perform at the Massachusetts State House for Human Rights Day! Watching them grow stronger each practice, how they “stan with fallen/napping queens who can’t text,” their willingness to learn, to fall, to get back up again. Their motivation “slays” me. I can’t contain how much I love these students.

img_0408

The Language of Food

2. The Language of Food – On Sundays, the Korean moms from a partner church teach our community how to cook Korean food, like bibimbap. Then, our Khmer moms teach them recipes like lemongrass beef (on a stick). Although they don’t speak the same language, sharing meals together has been inviting, nourishing, and sweet.

img_0246

Fleeting Autumn moments

1. Fleeting Autumn moments –  阿爺 and granddaughter walk and play beneath glimmering gold leaves. As my daughter grows, I hope she cherishes the wisdom, sacrifice, and fierce love her grandparents have for her.

Top 3 personal stories:

My blog used to be primarily about life as a nurse, with some stories about food, family, and life as a Khmer-American. Other than nursing, what would you like to see me write more about?

Top 3 films/dramas/shows:

I only saw one play all year, and it was fantastic. See below.

  1. ខ្ញុំ (Knyum) – Watched this with my parents, and they were encouraged to hear a 2nd generation perspective (in the form of theatre!), as he navigates his Khmer American identity, history, and language.  After the show, we got to meet Vichet, the playwright. He totally inspires me to write!

3 (fav) books I read:

3. The Emerald Mile by Kevin Fedarko

2. Tea Girl from Hummingbird Lane  by Lisa See

“All your life you wait,

and then it finally comes,

and are you ready?” 

– Anthony Doerr

1. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

3 new things I did in 2018:

3. Colored my sketches!

It might seem like no big deal, but I never took art classes so I have no idea what I’m doing. But I was inspired by fellow artists online, bought some markers, and voila!

2. Watched ZERO television/film/movies the entire year.

After reading the tech habits of parents, I realized I can’t enforce a “no-screen” policy for my toddler if I can’t control my own habits. (I still use social media, and my husband let’s her watch an occasional Peppa Pig clip online. What is it with Peppa?!) (Also, do you recommend any must watch Kdramas from 2018? hahaha)

There is one film I do hope to watch: Crazy Rich Asians. I read the book, but hope the film is better. (P.S. – check out my sister’s response to the film: Review of Crazy Rich Asians from a Crazy Poor Asian)

1. Started teaching Khmer reading and writing.

I love language learning, and I love helping others learn language too. =) How many languages do you speak?

3 random awesome memories:

3. My sister is expecting! *jump for joy* My sis in law created such an entertaining and suspenseful gender reveal game: Pictionary + Wheel of Fortune + the 3 Bears (and 2 of them wearing Kpop masks).

2. Whenever it’s bedtime, my toddler has a burst of energy, and gives these incredible soliloquies. Before age two, she was already preaching!

“The Bible says… you need to read this book!” – my toddler

1. We attended my aunt’s baptism this past year. When we asked her if there was in any change in her life, after deciding to follow Jesus, she answered:

“I used to be very anxious.

But now, I can trust, I can turn to God.

He hears me. And gives me great peace.” – Auntie Susannah

3 things I hope to do in 2019:

img_8161

New Adventures Await…

3. Get to church on time -I struggle with getting my toddler out of the house on time. Any other parents have some tips?

2. Start & finish a scrapbook- I never did get to it last year.

1. Blog more- I know, I say that every year too. =)

If you’ve read this far, you’re awesome. (Check out my 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014 and 2013 year in reviews!)

Thanks for coming along for the ride, and let’s embrace 2019 with courage and conviction. =)

3 thoughts on “Soaring (not snoring)! -2018 Year in Review

  1. I agree with Winifred, it sounds like you had a banner of a year. Lucky you. I certainly hope we see more of you in the blogging world. I’m heading over to check out your sis’s blog. Happy 2019. Many blessings! xxoo

Leave a comment