Did you know?

Her eyes lit up as she saw me walk by.

Ming (Auntie) Soapie!!!” The seven year old tilted her chin up to look at me.

“Yes?” I answered.

“You’re a nurse right?” she asked in her high pitched, cute voice.

I nodded. Most people didn’t recognize me on the weekend, when I wasn’t wearing scrubs.

“Did you know, you take care of my grandma?!” she exclaimed with excitement.

“Oh really?”

“Yeah! I seen you when I go with my grandma to see her doctor!” she beamed.

~ ~ ~

When I think back to this moment, I am always struck by a few things.

In her voice, the fondness she had for her grandmother.

In her eyes, the eagerness to connect with someone, who cares for her family.

In her proclamation, the recognition that nurses carry great responsibility.

“If you are in a city or a community that is broken,

where people are burned out or spiritually lostβ€”

stay as long as you can.”

-Tim Keller

5 thoughts on “Did you know?

  1. So sweet of the little girl to come up to you and show her appreciation. It seems like a small gesture, but it is gestures like these that show that what we do has an impact on others, for the better. Well done πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

