If You Only Do What You Like

 

“Mom’s eyes held yours for a moment.

‘I don’t like or dislike the kitchen.
I cooked because I had to.
I had to stay in the kitchen
so you could all eat and go to school.

How could you only do what you like?
There are things you have to do
whether you like it or not.’

Mom’s expression asked, What kind of question is that?
And then she murmured, ‘If you only do what you like,
who’s going to do what you don’t like?”

― Shin Kyung-sook, Please Look After Mom
8 thoughts on “If You Only Do What You Like

  1. Interesting. And so totally on the ball. You can’t just do what you like. I hate brushing my kids teeth. But I have a responsibility and it must be done right.
    Great post Soapie.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

