My Writing Process

i love writing and i love chopsticks.. why not have both? (hong kong, 2010)

I was nominated by Stacy at A God Coloured Girl in a Grey World to share about my writing process. Staci is a blogger in Brazil who expresses creativity through sweet poems, beautiful songs, and contemplative posts.

What am I working on at the moment?
It’s a work in progress, but one day, I hope to publish my parents genocide survival story. I’m still in the interviewing stage, because some stories are painful to collect and require years to reveal.

I’m also working on a book about my journey in becoming a nurse. As a naive student thrust into a world of responsibility, where lives were dependent upon my two novice hands, it was scary, challenging, and humbling. There are several memoirs written by doctors, but not enough written by nurses. I hope to change that, and hope people look foward to read it when I’m finished.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I write memoir. But it’s not really about me. It’s about what I’ve learned about humanity by embracing it in some of it’s darkest moments.

I’ve dabbled with some poetry here on the blog, but my husband says it’s not real poetry because it doesn’t rhyme. (He’s kidding). You can’t please everyone! :p

Why do I write what I do?
Because some stories are so compelling, inspiring, and moving, that they should and must be shared.

Also, writing is therapeutic and helps me to sift and process all the calamities of life. How about you?

How does my writing process work?
Most of the time, there is a sense of urgency that draws me to write. It is a magnetic force that pulls me out of bed, and attracts me to the keyboard to purge the stories that are awaiting to be written.

In contrast, when I don’t feel that “pull,” then I don’t write (for the blog) because the story isn’t good enough, or I just haven’t fleshed it out well enough in my mind yet.

Much of my pondering and brainstorming happens on my daily commute, via bus, train, plane, or by foot, and eventually are transcribed into the blog.

Thanks for reading this far and I do hope you’ll check out some other awesome writers below:

Eileen at 這個猶太女孩知道什麼有關旅行的東西? – she lives in Taiwan and writes poems and thoughts on  Jewish identity and adventures in Asia.

Christine at  Trudging Through Fog – she’s a prolific writer who I discovered through Trifecta and Yeah Write. She writes poignant, alluring fiction.

Michael at Stupid Ugly Foreigner – he is a travel blogger who writes witty, funny, and authentic posts about his globetrotting experiences.

9 thoughts on “My Writing Process

  1. i think you recommended the last blogger to me before i’ve read some of his stuff. 🙂 those are cute chopsticks. do they actually write or do they just look like pencils.

  2. I can’t wait for your book to come out! I love your writing – they’re so beautiful and always pull me in. I wish I was as good as you! I’m glad you’re writing everything down especially your parents genocide survival story. I love reading biography books to learn from others.

Leave a Reply

