The Power of Words

“If I go home, and then I die, it will be your fault…”

Those words….

AAAARrrGGHhh.

are like poison.

Why do people slay me with such stinging words?

Especially when I try my best? When I go above and beyond?  When my feet have ached all day because I haven’t sat at all? When my neck is stiff from talking on the phone, coordinating resources? When I heat my lunch but end up eating it cold, because I got interrupted for the hundreth time?

*sigh*

I will not be shaken.

My patients have encouraged me in the past…

“You are not just a nurse.

You are a healer.
You have help healed me.
You have made me feel more like a person.”

~ ~ ~

“Soapie.  I was so scared ; I was in pain. 

Then I saw you pass by in the hall and I immediately felt comfortable.

I knew you would take good care of me.”

 ~ ~ ~

Oh the power of words! 

The words of the reckless pierce like swords,
but the tongue of the wise brings healing. 

Truthful lips endure forever,
but a lying tongue lasts only a moment.

Deceit is in the hearts of those who plot evil, 
but those who promote peace have joy.
-Proverbs 12:18-20

5 thoughts on “The Power of Words

  1. that makes me sad that blind people can’t see the days. i bet they would be happy to see rainy days too. i hate that negative words stick to us much more than positive ones. i finally wrote a post it on my computer that reads “god loves you for who you are and not what you do”… instead of my usual.. “DO SOMETHING”

  2. So true!!! The world would be a better place if all of us — even those of us who are really sick — would take a minute to put ourselves in another person’s shoes. My nursing friends have told me they learned a lot about what it would be like to be a patient in the ICU from my rock-climbing story. I think patients would do well to read nurses’, too. Words and expressions are so important… As Mother Teresa said, “Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless.”

  3. When my dad was in the hospital, we were blessed with wonderful nurses. They were patient, gentle and understanding. They smiled even when they had to change him or when my dad got angry. The good ones had a sixth sense and knew what questions to ask, said the right words to my dad and to us too.

    There were some who just went about their jobs. But you see that in every organization. Maybe the person who spoke those words to you was scared and angry… not at you but at their own situation.

    p.s. I enjoyed the video.

Leave a Reply

